Fluency ideas

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by myKroom, Apr 10, 2015.

1. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Apr 10, 2015

Our state requires that students meet a fluency benchmark during the three testing periods or be labeled "substantially deficient." I'm an At-Risk teacher and so I am one of the teachers working with these "substantially deficient" kids. My team is looking for some more ideas on how to improve our student's fluency. We've done repeated reading, poetry, reader's theater, sight word work, etc. Some of our students are getting bored with it and, while we are seeing improvement, it's not as much as we would like. What else could we be doing?

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Apr 11, 2015

Our district uses a program called Read Naturally. I personally think it is boring as heck, but it works for some students.

4. a2z

a2z Maven

Apr 11, 2015

Read Naturally is a good program for students.

The thing you have to be very cognizant when you work with the student on fluency is that you aren't trying to develop their fluency when they are reading at or above their frustration level. Fluency must be done at the independent level.

Some kids need more work on blending so that it becomes automatic because not all words will be memorized and they need to be able to fluently decode a word. Because the kids are young, some still need something to help the track the line while they are reading. Their visual system is not developed enough to keep their eyes stable while reading a line of text. That may be a non-educational intervention to help fluency.

5. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Apr 11, 2015

Do you have Fundations? Our K-2 students get that and many of the teachers think it has helped a lot.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 11, 2015

How are you assessing fluency?

7. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Apr 12, 2015