Fluency? HELP!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by jeljohns, Aug 3, 2009.

1. jeljohns

jeljohns Rookie

Aug 3, 2009

This year our school is restructuring things completely different. I am an ELL teacher, but this school year I will be required to teach reading to all students (not just ELL). I will have to teach 3-5 students at a time in 15 minute rotations. About 12 groups or more a day. I'm really stressed out because I have to teach fluency that whole time, to each group, every day. I think teaching fluency is pretty boring and the students HATE reading things over and over to practice it. I need some great ideas, lessons, books, websites....anything!! The other issue is that some of my groups have very low readers mixed with high readers, so giving them all one passage will not work. Reader's Theater has been done to death at my school too so the kids are pretty sick of it. I'm looking for lessons that are fun and engaging.

I'm pretty stressed, help!

3. noreenk

noreenk Cohort

Aug 3, 2009

I use poetry... it's short, easy, and can be rich with vocabulary and humor. My faves are Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, although I've found other random books that have silly school-related poems. Not sure what grade you teach, but I've used poetry with first graders through fifth graders.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 3, 2009

If you use poetry, though, please be sure to throw in, from time to time, a poem that needs to be processed more slowly and carefully, and show kids how reading it aloud to themselves fluently can help them understand it. Fluency's useful, but there's more to reading than that: see Cris Tovani's I read it, but I don't get it.

5. jeljohns

jeljohns Rookie

Aug 3, 2009

This year I will have 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th graders!

6. allisonbeth

allisonbeth Comrade

Aug 3, 2009

Somethings we do-

-riddles and jokes
    -poems
    -students tape record their reading and listen
    -graphing of words per min.