Floundering in life. Should I quit teaching?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by substitute_stev, Jan 13, 2015.

1. substitute_stev

substitute_stev Rookie

Jan 13, 2015

After a series of ditch digging jobs and working in hotels as a bellhop for 15 years I decided to change my life and do something worthwhile.

So I went back to college at age 35, got my bachelors degree and became a teacher. I made my family/friends proud of me because in high school I was voted "least likely to succeed." (That label was damaging to my self-esteem but drove me to do something with my life)

In 2007 I started out as a substitute teacher. Then in 2009 I became a full-time teacher. I finally made something of myself!

After two years of being a full-time teacher my passion for teaching went out like a flame. Public school teaching was very stressful and I started to lose my health. I realized teaching was not a good fit either.
    Anyway, as luck would have it I was laid off. I felt relieved---no more long days in my classroom, no more disciplinary issues, no more grading papers at home, no more parent calls, and no more detention slips.
    The stress disappeared. I regained my health and started to feel good again. It took me over a year to recover from teaching.

I decided to build a "lifestyle" and not a career. So I went back to substitute teaching(taking a step down) and got a job in sales part-time.
    When I see my former colleagues they say to me...."Steve you are NOT a substitute, you are a teacher! Go back to full-time teaching." I tell them--"no, its too much of a grind and do not want the stress of full-time teaching again."
    I do feel like I am overqualified as a substitute. That's the hardest part to swallow, as if I am not living up to my potential.

I am at a cross-roads and thinking of quitting subbing altogether since I am going nowhere in life and do not plan on going back to full-time teaching. Do teachers demote themselves to being substitutes?