FLOORED I didn't get an interview

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by allaragallagher, Apr 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allaragallagher

allaragallagher Comrade

Apr 14, 2014

Hi all,

New member here. I found this forum late a few nights ago when I was trying to find anyone to talk to about my experience who might understand. I'll try to make this quick...

I graduated in 2013. I did my full fifteen-week student placement at a nearby HS. Both my mentor teacher and the only other HS English teacher planned to retire in a year. After graduation, I stayed involved with the HS by immediately agreeing to proctor the AP tests as a substitute.

I applied at fifteen or so other schools within 30 to 45 miles from where I live. I received one interview and didn't get the job. I wasn't upset because I knew two English positions were opening up at the HS I did my student teaching placement at.

I started substituting at the start of the 2014-2015 academic year.

I received A LOT of encouragement from the staff. A teacher e-mailed me the minute the positions were posted internally. I sent in my applications as soon as the jobs posted online. I called the superintendent's office about a week later to make sure my application packets had been received, and I made sure to catch the principal during lunch duty one day, shake his hand, and say I had submitted my applications.

That's it. I thought I had it made. Whenever I subbed, staff members would visit me and ask whether I had put my applications in. I would answer that I had and was crossing my fingers I would get a job.

The staff would tell me things like: I heard fifteen people applied. I heard so-and-so is on the hiring committee. I heard interviews are starting soon. It all sounded fine to me. I had gained all my experience at this HS and all of my references were teachers there.