Flexible seating

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by kcjo13, Aug 17, 2016.

1. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Aug 17, 2016

Hello everyone...I used to be a regular poster, but I got out of teaching so I've been MIA for some time. However, I have a question as a parent to a teacher.

My daughter's teacher is using "flexible seating". I've been seeing this on Pinterest and other places, but last night at open house I got to see her definition of it. Um...I'm not sure. First, her room is pretty small, and it's fifth grade so the kids are getting bigger, and the tables are tiny. Small tables with 5 chairs crammed around it. Daughter is bummed-she's sure she's going to get stuck on the end, like when you go to a restaurant and they pull up a chair, and you get banged into by the waiters all night.

For me, if I was a student, it would drive me nuts to not know where I was sitting every day, and that I had to change it up all the time. I get anxiety when going to conferences because I need to find that perfect seat. And the second day is worse-will someone steal my seat? In my daughter's room, there was one big red fancy chair. So does it rotate? So she gets to sit there once every 20th switch? First come first served? So because she is a drop off, the bus kids will get the chair? Ugh, my stomach is rolling thinking about that, and I know my daughter has the same feelings.

So thoughts? How does this work? I asked the teacher, and she was pretty vague. Just, we will work that all out when we get here. Plus, she isn't known for her management so I'm picturing chaos.

If you were using flexible seating, what would you tell me as a parent, and daughter as a student?

Tulipteacher likes this.
  3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Aug 17, 2016