Fit untruth

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by InNeed, Oct 5, 2006.

1. InNeed

InNeed New Member

Oct 5, 2006

I have been a special education teacher for going on three years. That whole time I spent at one district. I was an autistic support teacher. At the beginning of this year after asking for a transfer( not relivant that I know) I was told that someone had made an accusation against me. The district took info back and forth and at our third meeting I was told that they were going to have a meeting that would determine if they would be firing me. I don't know what to do. What was said was untruths and twisting of facts. But being others opinions I don't know how to fit.I am looking for a lawyer but I don't know what else to do. If anyone has any advice please let me know.

3. thelonius

thelonius Rookie

Oct 5, 2006

Hello InNeed,

If I were you, I would give them my resignation before they would get to me (and my sanity!). My guess is that you might happen to be one of their most liked teacher, and seeing you go, seems to be an insult. For three years, I can "safely assume" that you maintained a satisfactory rating, and never had any negative incidents against your record. Perhaps, it might be a means to find just cause to let you go -- but not without a fight.

I was in a similar situation as you were years ago when I was a special ed. teacher at a school district in the Bronx. Instead of the accusations that you mentioned, the administrators began to intimidate me when I started asking for a transfer to another district. They would walk in my classroom, unannounced, pace around, look at my notes on the board, look at my lesson plans, briefly observe my curricular practices, and then leave. The above-mentioned were something that I was already used to anyway, but I became suspicious when they were doing it more often than normal -- sometimes, up to three times per day.