First Year

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by missapril81, Jul 17, 2009.

1. missapril81

missapril81 Companion

Jul 17, 2009

This is my first year teaching Special Education. Can anyone offer me and tips or advice that will help me make it through this first year? How was your first year as a Special Education teacher?

3. karebear76

karebear76 Habitué

Jul 17, 2009

My suggestion is to find a mentor. If you have one assigned by your district, great. If not, find someone in special ed that seems to know what is going on. They will be invaluable with helping you get timelines right, etc. They can also fill you in on the IEP process at your school.

I would want to know these things:
    * Do you have a set time to do all IEP meetings? (my district does them in Oct, and then any move ins if necessary to adhere to legal timelines)
    * Who is the district representative for IEPs?
    * Where are special ed files located & what is the procedure for viewing them?
    * What am I expected to do (inclusion, self contained, resource, grades, etc)?
    * Do you have an online IEP program or other software for writing IEPs? Or handwrite them?
    * Will I have a para assigned to my room? Or a particular student, or none?
    * Will I have extra duties (recess, lunch, etc)?
    * Then specific questions for any educator: bathrooms, dress code, rules, discipline policy, etc. if this is a new school to you.