First Year Teachers- what is your background?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by TennisPlayer, Jul 21, 2008.

1. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Jul 21, 2008

I'm curious to hear how many people here are straight out of college versus people that have substituted or done some other type of work before they got hired for this next year?

I'll start. I have been a substitute/PT nanny for 5 years while job-searching.

Congratulations on your new job!

3. scooter503

scooter503 Comrade

Jul 21, 2008

I have been a substitute for six years, including 4 LTS jobs. Yeah....so glad that's behind me!! :D

4. mdith4him

mdith4him Companion

Jul 21, 2008

I had a year of student teaching and now I'm going to be a K teacher in about a month! So I'm 22 years old, right out of college. :)

5. MiddleGradesLA

MiddleGradesLA Rookie

Jul 21, 2008

I was a traditional college student, I graduated December 2007. I subbed last semester while trying to find a job. I can't wait to get started!

6. michelleann27

michelleann27 Cohort

Jul 21, 2008

Before starting school sub alot and volunteered. Went to college and had a job 4 months before I graduated.

7. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Jul 21, 2008

24 years old and just graduated in May. No subbing experience - just a lot of methods and student teaching.

8. Lareigna

Lareigna Companion

Jul 21, 2008

I student taught for a year. Graduated in May 2007 and got a job in Septemeber 2007 1 week before school started. I never had o sub.

9. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Jul 21, 2008

I got my certification in December 2007, I had a LTS job from Jan to June, and I have a contract for a school different than the one I LTS'ed at. I am a career changer though so I actually graduated from college in the mid 90s and have done a variety of jobs before getting my certification. So I'm recently certified but definitely not 22!

10. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jul 21, 2008