First Year Teacher

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by lullabelle72, Oct 7, 2011.

1. lullabelle72

lullabelle72 Rookie

Oct 7, 2011

Hello everyone!

I'm a brand new teacher starting on Monday! I graduated in December-- I'm 26 years old and probably look about 20. I loved student teaching, but of course I had a mentor teacher with me. I'm very excited and honored to be given the chance to take over a classroom and yet, absolutely terrified to begin!

On Monday and Tuesday I'll be getting accustomed to the school-- and either Wednesday or Thursday, I'll be assuming teaching responsibilities.

I am looking for any and all advice on how to start out... taking over a classroom! Did anyone else have an experience like this?

What should I expect, especially with 5th graders?!

3. themilocat

themilocat Rookie

Oct 16, 2011

Just saw your post-- hope things are going well! I'm a new teacher this year, too...and I started teaching after the year had already started.

My advice would be to start right away with your own procedures...and spend a week or so going over these, just as you would at the beginning of the year. Everything that I had read and been told told me to keep with the previous teacher's procedures and gradually switch over to mine. I WISH I HAD NOT DONE THIS! It was basically two weeks of H*** and was just wasted time. I had to stop 2 weeks in to change the procedures and basically start over, so now my class is 3 weeks behind the other fifth grade class. Oh well, we have a much better relationship and classroom management now!

I also think that my class viewed me as a sub for the first month or so. Again, I think this was because I tried to follow someone else's procedures and the kids new I was struggling.