First year teacher panic

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 773 Miles Away, Aug 1, 2007.

1. 773 Miles Away

773 Miles Away Comrade

Aug 1, 2007

Being that this is my first year teaching I'm wondering what the norm is. I just read on my city's teacher union contract how it is my responsibility to give my principal at the beginning of the school year a general map of what my kids will learn and generally when (month by month I'm guessing).

Now I haven't heard from my principal since the day I got hired with the exception of a short email saying my HR meeting will be coming up (i just went).

She said she won't get back until mid/late august and I can meet with her then to answer my gazillion questions.

SO.. this is my situation.. I havent' seen my room, I don't know what specifically I'm teaching (i.e. which subjects have "scripted curriculums" and which I have to create on my own), I don't know the organization of the day (do I get to create my own schedule or does she tell me when), I don't know what specials my kids go to or when, I don't know what school wide policies I have to abide by, etc etc etc....

Has this ever happened to anyone?? I'm trying to plan ahead by I've hit a road block until I get more info!

My main concern is... should I know what i"m teaching and when? I was hoping to just truck through the state standards and plan as I go so that I can figure out the pacing by my second year of teaching.... is this foolish? I really can't imagine how long things will take yet..

So lost

3. gmer22

gmer22 Rookie

Aug 1, 2007