First year teacher needing advice desperately

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by carb, Aug 10, 2010.

1. carb

carb Rookie

Aug 10, 2010

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a first year teacher in a multi-handicap classroom and feel overwhelmed at this point! I have 6, 7, and 8th grade students who go to specials at various points in the day each at different times. My principal told me that he wanted my classroom to be like a revolving door with students coming and going. The problem is that I have no clue how to teach particular subjects when I have students out of the room at various times throughout the day. The prior teacher had students complete a daily check list. Students were required to complete certain tasks each day before they left school. I feel that if I adopt this approach I will never receive the opportunity to provide direct instrction. Please help!

3. mom2mikey

mom2mikey Cohort

Aug 10, 2010

How often are all the students in the room at the same time? Does each grade of students go out together?

If each grade is going out as a group you could do something like this:

Period 1 - Grade 8s Out of Room, Grade 7s Individual Work Stations, Grade 6s Group Lesson

Period 2 - Grade 8s Individual Work Stations, Grade 7s Group Lesson, Grade 6s Group Lesson

I think it really depends on which students leave when. Give a few more details and perhaps someone will have some ideas.

4. carb

carb Rookie

Aug 10, 2010