First year; How much would you change?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by anewstart101, Aug 3, 2013.

1. anewstart101

anewstart101 Cohort

Aug 3, 2013

I am going into a classroom that is fairly well established. It is an autism focus classroom.

There are set routines and procedures. How much would you change?

My plan is to keep things as much as I can the same but I am infusing me so that will be different. As the year goes on makes changes that benefit the students.

This is an autism focus mild to moderate high school class with 9th to 11th graders.

Stephanie

3. krmlk

krmlk New Member

Aug 4, 2013

Perfect question! I am in the same boat! I am new to this school and will have elementary students on the autism spectrum. I will have 4 paras.
    I want to add some of my flavor without changing too much.

Hopefully, we will get some good input :)

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Aug 4, 2013

Congrats to both of you! I wouldn't worry about making changes. The room may be established, but that doesn't mean you can't change things to suit your teaching style. We all have different styles, and what worked for the previous teacher may not work for you and vice versa. It will probably be harder on the students if you make changes mid-year, so I would probably just start off with the changes at the beginning of the year, if it were me.

From the opposite perspective... We just hired a new teacher for our high-needs classroom. The previous teacher had been there for over 20 years. The teacher coming in has a lot of new ideas, and we're all very much looking forward to the changes he will make. We didn't want someone who was just going to come in, ask the paras how things have always been done, and then do that. We wanted someone who could think for him/herself and make a positive change in a room that desperately needed it. The new teacher has been described as "a breath of fresh air" for the new ideas he has proposed.