First Week of School Activities

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by hoku625, Jul 23, 2009.

1. hoku625

hoku625 Rookie

Jul 23, 2009

This is my first year in 5th grade and was wondering what types of icebreaker activities you do with your students during the first week of school.

I'm at a new school and new grade level. There is only one class per grade level, although I will have 7 students who are new to the school, 20 have been together for awhile.

I'm thinking of a getting to know you activity, a time capsule, and read aloud but I'm looking for some energizers/ice breakers to fill in the time and make it fun.

3. jennyd

jennyd Companion

Jul 23, 2009

Ooooh, I'd like to hear what people have to say, also. I'm switching to 5th after three years in 1st, and will be the only teacher at grade level, too.

I know I'm hoping to have the kids put together an "all about me" thing on the computer and then run the slideshow at Back-to-School night. The more ideas the merrier, though! :)

4. Lionteacher

Lionteacher Companion

Jul 23, 2009

The first day I show them around the room and work on teaching procedures during the first week. I work in a school where I am the only fifth grade teacher and most of my students have been together since kindergarten. For the new students I usually assign them a buddy to help them get acclimated with the school.

I do not do a whole lot of community building because they are a group already.

However, since you have several new students I would do some group work to help them get to know each other.

5. noreenk

noreenk Cohort

Jul 23, 2009

I copied this from a post by TeacherChele from a discussion earlier in the summer:

I also do a paper wad fight where the kids write 3 clues about themselves on a piece of paper. We wad them up, throw them, everyone grabs a paper wad 2-3 read theirs aloud and try to guess who it is. Then we wad them up and play several rounds.