First week of School - 1st grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by SleekTeach, Jun 27, 2014.

1. SleekTeach

SleekTeach Comrade

Jun 27, 2014

What do y'all do during the first week of school?

I'm new to first grade and my district has a very strict curriculum and I have seen what I'm supposed to be teaching the first week.

Monday: Identifying Quantities 1 to 6
    Tuesday: Identifying Quantities 1 to 10
    Wednesday: Writing Numerals 0 to 9
    Thursday: Matching Representations of 1 to 10
    Friday: Recognizing Quantities by Sight

So basically, it looks like I am doing a review of Kindergarten.

I haven't received the Science stuff yet so I'm not sure what to do for that yet.

Should I stick strictly to things or should I probably do two of these lessons a day and start week two on Thursday?

I do know that in Texas at least, first grade is the year that all students are required to be in school, so I could possibly be getting some first time students who really don't know any of this stuff.

I just feel like it may be difficult to expand these "lessons."

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jun 27, 2014

My principal gets pissy if any teachers do much in the way of curriculum during the first week. Especially if you're getting kiddos that are new to school, I think it's much more important that you work on getting them acclimated to the classroom, first.

4. jteachette

jteachette Comrade

Jun 27, 2014

I am also teaching Math and Science this year.
    Before you can do the lesson, think about these things:
    Where do you want them to sit? (In desks? On the floor? If on the floor, in rows or in a circle?)
    How do you want them to handle the materials?
    How do you want them to get the materials?
    How do you want them to return the materials?
    How do they enter the room?
    How do they exit the room?
    How do they indicate that they want to answer a question?go to the bathroom? need a pencil?