First to Fifth!

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by hzminda, Apr 30, 2014.

1. hzminda

hzminda Rookie

Apr 30, 2014

Hello my AtoZ pals :)

So, I have been teaching 1st for the past two years now and I am taking a giant leap into 5th starting next year :eek:

I am excited for all of the possibilities with this new age group and independence, but also a little anxious as to what to expect. I will be teaching high performing students and want to be able to challenge my kiddos. Any great writing, reading, math, science, or social studies ideas? Please let me know! :help:

This summer I plan on coming up with some lesson plan ideas BEFORE school starts, so I will be back on this form weekly to check in for more ideas ;)

M.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 30, 2014

What a wonderful age group to teach! I'll start looking through my resources and see what I can find to help you.

4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Apr 30, 2014

5th grade is my favorite! It will be a big change from first, but I'm sure you'll love it!

5. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Apr 30, 2014

hzminda, we are twins! I've been teaching 1st for the past two years as well, and will be teaching 5th next year (at a new school and in a new area of my state). Since you're asking about all subject areas, I assume you are teaching self-contained as well? Are you teaching gifted?

Personally, I am INCREDIBLY excited. I really thought I would be in primary forever. Then I got this job and I suddenly realized how much I want to try this. I observed in a friend's fifth grade class over my spring break, and I became so excited. They can do SO MUCH!!

I will be following your journey with interest, since we are in such a similar place! :)

6. hzminda

hzminda Rookie

May 1, 2014