first-time teacher needing some advice

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by eager2teach2007, Jun 30, 2007.

1. eager2teach2007

eager2teach2007 Rookie

Jun 30, 2007

Hello all. I graduated last year with a Bachelors in English, and am currently trying to find a job. I have applied for my Temporary Teaching Certificate (which I got approved...I just need to get hired in order to get the actual paper certificate, but I'm temporarily certified to teach now for 3 years, English 6-12, by simply having a bachelors of arts degree). I'm working toward receiving my permanent license, which involves my passing 3 exams (1 of which I've passed, and I have 2 more to take), teaching for at least 1 year, and taking 12 hours in upper-level Education classes at an accredited institution.

I don't have ANY teaching experience; while I was in school, my advisor said that I didn't need any education classes to teach. I've gone on 1 interview w/ a local high school, who later sent me a letter stating that they had found another qualified applicant. Later that week, I had an excellent interview with a local middle school, but that was 3 weeks ago. I called a week after the interview, and the secretary told me that the principal had not made a decision as of yet, but that he would be calling back all the applicants once his decision was made. Should I call back again, or simply wait? That's my first question.