First quiz today--Frustrated

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by MZWilson, Aug 30, 2011.

1. MZWilson

MZWilson New Member

Aug 30, 2011

Hello all,

I've read a ton of the forums but decided it was time to go ahead and register.

This is my first year teaching (Spanish) and I gave our first quiz today over the basics. I've done lots of quizzes and tests in my student teaching and my placements, but this is the first time I've run into a score discrepancy so large. I expected the classes to be within a few percentage points of each other but the two classes that took the quiz had averages of about 81% and about 60%.

I can't for the life of me figure out why there is such an enormous difference between the two. I taught the same lessons, same activities, in generally the same way. The lower scoring kids were my afternoon class--the second time I teach that class in the day--so I felt like I was better for that class. I was just hoping for some ideas of what I might be able to better focus on to make sure things come out more equally. I tried to be consistent and fair.

I know some of the problem is students not studying, some of the answers made that abundantly clear. I'm also realistic in knowing that some of it is me as well.

Wow, rather long winded. I'm just looking for some suggestions and advice to help ease some of my frustration.

Thanks,

MZW

3. dovian

dovian Comrade

Aug 30, 2011