First paycheck

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by marylandteach, Jul 24, 2008.

1. marylandteach

marylandteach New Member

Jul 24, 2008

Hi all,
    I am a new teacher for the upcoming school year and I am wondering when I will get my first paycheck. I don't start working until the end of August, but my benefits start August 1st. So will I get paid before I start? I am running out of money from my college budget and was just wondering what you thought. I called the district but the person I need to talk to is on vacation. Thoughts?
    Mary

3. Budaka

Budaka Cohort

Jul 24, 2008

It all depends on your school district! I have received checks before I started working so you might. Have you tried looking on your school website? Sometimes they might have paydates listed for teachers. My current school we don't get our first paycheck until Sept. 15. ::p

4. basswife

basswife Rookie

Jul 24, 2008

Two disticts that I worked for in the past did not start paying you until Sept. 15th. That can be very rough when school starts in early August!
    The district I currently work for paid us on Aug. 15th last year and we are expecting the same this year.
    Maybe you can ask your principal or another newer teacher in the building?

5. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Jul 24, 2008

We get paid every other Friday, so if we start teacher inservice days on a wednesday the next Friday we get our first paycheck.

6. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Jul 24, 2008

There is no way to tell - my district starts the new year with August, my friend doesn't get paid until the end of September.

7. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jul 24, 2008

Call your principal -- she/he may be able to answer your question.

8. LMath85

LMath85 Companion

Jul 24, 2008

Last year I received my first paycheck on September 15th. It all depended on how late paperwork was put in. My friend had to wait til the end of September while mine was put in early so I was paid on time.

9. each1teach1

each1teach1 Cohort