First parent complaint....how do you deal?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Jan 13, 2015.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Jan 13, 2015

Hey, everyone. Sorry for all the bummed posts lately. I just am having a rough time. Here's the background:

I am a first year teacher. I teach at an elementary school. Our school offers free tutoring on Mondays. Another teacher has been in charge of it all year, but right before Thanksgiving, he asked if I could do it with him due to the number of students. I said I would.

Due to Christmas break, and him cancelling for various reasons (etc. flat tire, sick), we have only gotten to have tutoring 4 times. The first time, I asked him if there was something I needed to prepare. He said no. The first week, all the kids did the whole time was play on an educational website. I wasn't sure how I felt about this, and I kept asking, is this all we do? We don't actually do any work with them? And he said no. I didn't really want to step on toes, so I just went with the flow. He said that this is what they have been doing since it started at the beginning of the year. We have done this four times now. Turns out, he won't be able to do it anymore starting in February. I will be taking it over. I already had plans to revamp the whole thing and start doing small groups, games, etc. Because I've always felt this was wrong. I mean, we're getting paid for this! We shouldn't be grading papers while they play on a computer. Maybe I should have spoken up.

Anyway, yesterday one of my team teacher's students was in tutoring. She asked what types of computer games to play and I said ELA, because I know she struggles in it. I only teach her ELA and social studies. Apparently, she made an F in math on her report card. I didn't realize this, or I would have had her work on math.

Today, her mother calls my team teacher with two (legitimate) complaints: