First meeting with new assistant

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by jbrinkm, Aug 15, 2013.

1. jbrinkm

jbrinkm Companion

Aug 15, 2013

What would be your advice for my first meeting with a new assistant teacher?

I've been a teacher for a long time, but only in Pre-K for 3 years. My only experience with an assistant was very negative. She was already working in the classroom with the previous teacher before I was hired and I've struggled with the relationship since I started. It looks like I will be assigned someone new for this coming school year and I want to start out right.

What would you consider to be the most crucial pieces of a first meeting?

I'm planning to find out what he most likes to do in order to create a chart of daily roles and duties, and then identify what my classroom goals are and my expectations of him in order to meet the goals. How does that sound? Anything else to add?

3. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Aug 15, 2013