First job - what do I ask?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by mamaotter, Jul 8, 2018.

1. mamaotter

mamaotter Rookie

Jul 8, 2018

I'm a recent graduate about to start my second career teaching math. I was offered a position last week to teach 9th grade, pending board approval this week. The principal felt that was just a formality, so I'm eagerly awaiting his phone call to arrange a meeting to get things started. He told me a lot about how things work at his school during the interview (and I'm really excited to work there!), but I know there's probably much more that I need to know.

So, what questions should I ask when I meet with him? I know many questions can wait until I meet my fellow teachers, but what do I need to know right away?

Thanks!

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 8, 2018

I’d ask about when you can get to your room, who you will be working with, and what curriculum is already in place.

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 8, 2018

I agree with Ima. In addition, you might also find out if there are any relevant PD or training dates this summer, and you should also ask when your new teacher orientation begins. You can ask if there is anything you should be doing to prepare this summer, but, if they don't give you much, then just enjoy your summer and wait until you begin the job.

5. mamaotter

mamaotter Rookie

Jul 8, 2018

This brings to mind another question. Who pays for PD? Is it typically your school/district, or yourself? Because having just finished school, I am broke and desperately waiting for my first paycheck, which I just realized I may not get until the end of September. LOL

6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 8, 2018