First interview tomorrow!! Advice please :)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Lady V, Jun 13, 2016.

1. Lady V

Lady V Rookie

Jun 13, 2016

Hello! I live in a district where the interviews and hiring are always done in late July up through the start of school. It is nerve wracking to say the least. Anyways! Last week I was calling schools and ended up talking to a principal on the phone and he asked me if I could come in tomorrow for an interview for 7th grade ELA. I am thrilled considering this is a month earlier than normal here! However, it is my very first interview and I do not want to mess anything up. I asked him if I needed to prepare anything and he said no, not to bring anything except my resume and also to email it to him. (back story-I have subbed at his school several times and was offered a long term maternity sub position there but had to turn down to do my student teaching)
    My degree is Masters in K-6 and 4-8. I have been studying the 7th grade standards so I can speak with some knowledge but I will admit I am very nervous as ALL my practicums and student teaching were in kindergarten, second, and third grades! (I also have done an interim in the third grade. -I was so blessed to be offered it and it started literally the day after my student teaching ended. Wonderful experience!)
    Can anyone offer guidance? I know that my town is VERY competitive. I am looking at all the schools and the furthest ones away are a little over an hour each way but would be honored and grateful if offered and would of course say 'Yes'! (I also have a Master in Business Administration with an emphasis in International Business--was thinking of explaining my passion for lifelong learning...?)
    Sorry for rambling,-I am very excited and nervous about this opportunity tomorrow. I welcome any advice and positive thoughts! Thank you!!

3. phillyteacher

phillyteacher Comrade

Jun 13, 2016