first graders??

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by peggy27, Feb 9, 2008.

1. peggy27

peggy27 Cohort

Feb 9, 2008

I have been teaching fourth grade for about 7 years and I am tired of dealing with their attitudes and behaviors. I am possibly moving to first grade. Any insights on first grade would be great. I am a little apprehensive.:thanks:

3. iTeacher

iTeacher Rookie

Feb 9, 2008

Be prepared to hold their hand every step of the way. Be prepared to to tie shoe laces, button coats, deal with tattle tales, tears when they don't get their way or miss their mommy. Also be prepared for unconditional love, first graders usually always love their teachers. I wouldn't leave first grade for anything!

4. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Feb 9, 2008

Yep, they aren't as independent as we like but they are terminally curious (well most of them). They are a bit needy and that can sap the energy out of you sometimes but they are a lot of fun and for most kids, easy to please. They do require a a lot of structure and repetition for classroom rules, social rules, tranitions, etc.

5. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Feb 9, 2008

First grade is great! My favorite part is teaching reading. You will have a wide range of students, some who are still learning letter sounds and others who are reading chapter books. As the others said, they do need structure. They do tend to still love school and are eager to please.

6. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Feb 9, 2008

Be prepared to feel very fulfilled--teaching wise. They aren't necessarily "blank slates" but they haven't been taught a lot, so you're teaching them all new things. It's very cool to see a child who doesn't know how to read, put the sounds together and become a confident reader, or a child who doesn't know what adding is end up being able to do 30 basic facts in 2 minutes.