First Grade

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by jen12, May 6, 2013.

1. jen12

jen12 Devotee

May 6, 2013

Is there a grade that just kills you?

For me it's first grade. For some reason, first grade often seems needier than kinders or even preschoolers. I've never subbed in a first grade room where someone hasn't asked to go to the nurse. No matter how many times I tell them to sit in their seats, whenever I turn around, there's one right on my tail with some problem or other...it's quite comical in a certain sense.

Recently I was in a first grade class that spent the two days I was there telling me what Mrs. X. didn't like subs doing. "Mrs. X. doesn't like it when the subs use the soap at the sink." "Mrs. X. doesn't like it when the subs use the elmo projector." And on, and on, and on. I have no idea what went down the last time she was gone, but I am not "the sub" I am a teacher who happens to be covering for another teacher. One student even tried to get my attention by saying "hey Sub!" If they were middle or high school, I would see it as a genuine effort to display a lack of respect. With this young an age, I have to seriously wonder how their teacher prepared them for her absence.

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

May 6, 2013

Kids his age are attached to familiarity and routine. When things change, they notice it more so and it takes them a bit to adjust.

4. HeatherY

HeatherY Habitué

May 9, 2013

I can't stand first grade. Even second sort of bugs me, although I like Kinder. First graders are so touchy feely! They are always rubbing my shoes when we read and stuff.

5. Tek

Tek Comrade

May 13, 2013

LOL. I laugh at all this because I'm a 1st year 1st grade teacher, and these kids might as well be my very own. I've grown to love this age, though. They really grow a lot during the 9 months it's amazing to witness

6. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

May 13, 2013

I know! All the time! I think it's strangely cute, though. :)

7. John Lee