first grade will not stay in his seat!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Iris228, Oct 29, 2008.

1. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Oct 29, 2008

I'm new to first grade, and a new teacher as well. I need some advice. I want to crazy glue this child's rear to his seat! He is always up moving around. I know first graders have a lot of energy but he needs to be sitting when the other children are as well. Also, when he moves around I can't monitor what he's doing and it's usually bothering someone else. During journal time all of the students are writing and in their seats. When I'm helping someone out or reading their work he will wander around the room and sometimes I don't notice until it's because someone is screaming that he's annoying them. Suggestions for helping him stay in his seat?

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Oct 29, 2008

Seems like he needs some reinforcement ( immediate). Can you use stars or some type of visual to reinforce him? How about setting a timer to earn a sticker?

4. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Oct 29, 2008

Yes I could try that. I do a behavior chart with another student who is active in the class as well very similar to this-he earns stickers for staying in his seat, working quietly, letting others do their work, and trying his best. We go through each question to determine if he did these tasks for the allotted time and he earns stickers if he did.

However, my only concern with this particular student who has trouble staying in his seat is it doesn't seem to bother him when he doesn't earn rewards. Or he's always like "what do I get" He's atypical from other first graders in that I'm not sure if a sticker will be compelling enough for him. However, I'm going to give it a try, perhaps I'm wrong (I hope so).

5. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Oct 29, 2008

I have a child like that in my class this year as well.