First grade line

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by tmichrod, Aug 13, 2011.

1. tmichrod

tmichrod Rookie

Aug 13, 2011

This is my first year teaching First Grade. Question... what's the best way to do a class line? Do you do a line order? Or do you just have a line leader? If you do a line order, how do you get them lined up? Do you call each number? Or do you just say "Line up in line order"...? I want this to be as simple as possible... any suggestions? My class size will be probably between 12 and 14 students...

3. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Aug 13, 2011

Getting them to line up in the classroom:

"When I say the first letter of your name, line up"

Say the alphabet. Don't always start with the same letter.

If there are lots of kids who's names start with the same letter, then you might say "J if you are a boy, J if you are a girl"

If you are on the playground, and need your class to line up do this:

1. Use your whistle in a distinctive manner - I use "shave and a haircut." That should collect most of your students from a playground with several hundred kids.

2. Point your arms in the direction you want the kids to line up.

You will need to practice this with them.

Line leaders

Most teachers rotate the job. I generally prefer to give it to my most "high maintenance" student who needs to be watched closely.

Walking in line

First graders will not know what "single file" means. The best way to describe it is to say "Pretend you are on a road/path/bridge/ that is only wide enough for one kid."

If you can train your line leader well enough, it's generally better to walk along side the students rather than in front of them. #1 rule with first graders: If they can't see your face, then as far as they are concerned, you do not exist.

A lot of teachers walk backwards at the front of the line. If you ask me, this is worker's comp claim waiting to happen.