First Demo Lesson

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by LMath85, Jul 25, 2007.

1. LMath85

LMath85 Companion

Jul 25, 2007

Hi all -

This is my first time posting here though I've visited this site often over the past year. I got a call today to do a Demo lesson in a High School Math A summer school class and I just have a few questions.

First off, the AP for Math did not know the topic that the summer school class was up too. She told me to come in at 9am & the class begins at 9:37am. Summer school classes run for an hour & a half...will I be teaching for an hour & a half? I have only ever taught for 45minutes - so I'm nervous about possibly preparing for a lesson with no preparation whatsoever.

Second, she didn't mention anything about sitting down for an interview. Should I expect to sit with her after my lesson (I assume I will).

Anything else I should expect??

:unsure: Thanks for your help!!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 25, 2007

Hi and welcome!!

Well, if it's a summer school class, then in theory anything in the syllabus should be fair game; they've seen everything during the year. And I don't think you should stress about the length of the lesson, since the regular teacher will be on the premises. He or she could always pick up where you leave off.

Do you have a Regents Review book? If not, hit the bookstore in the morning and pick up a Barrons book. I'm pretty sure that any math A class in NY is doing constant regents review, so you'll want to incorporate some of those questions for the good of the kids in front of you.

I haven't taught math A in years, so check that none of what I'm about to mention is covered in the B course, OK?