First Day

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Miss Took, Jul 29, 2007.

1. Miss Took

Miss Took New Member

Jul 29, 2007

I am a recent-grad school graduate, wet behind the ears, excited about my job--yet scared out of my mind first year teacher. I will be starting as a k-3 grade special education teacher. My fear is when the door closes on the first day, and 5 students, of varying levels, and two aides will look at me for direction.

What activities did you have planned for a first day of a self-contained classroom?:help:

3. SheTeaches

SheTeaches Rookie

Jul 30, 2007

Miss Took, I'm in the same boat! brand new, 2 paras, 5 kids, grades 1-3, behavior disorders. My question is how do you address ALL levels? 3 grades and 4 subjects per day means 60 lessons per week?! can any experienced spec ed teacher give any advice? also any advice about teaching student w behavior disorders would be helpful!!

4. aautismj

aautismj Rookie

Jul 30, 2007

Wow I am in the same boat also!! I have a k-2 autism classroom and although I have experience with autistic students I have never actually been in charge. Sorry I cant give a lot of advice but I wish you the best of luck!! Also I couldnt help but notice you were both in New Jersey...where abouts?

5. jnation

jnation Companion

Jul 30, 2007

Take a deep breath guys. This will be my third year in a self-contained class for kids with BD, and I still don't have everything figured out. You will find that teaching the various subjects comes together pretty nicely. I try and do as many subjects as a group as I can. For instance, I pick one social studies book and we all use it. The same for Science and writing activities. We break up into small groups for math and reading and my aides teach a group of students from my lesson plans.