First Day!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by MissTeach22, Jul 19, 2010.

1. MissTeach22

MissTeach22 Companion

Jul 19, 2010

Hi :) I am new to 1st grade & wondering what you do for the first day of school? I am planning on doing get to know you activities/classroom rules/procedures/some read alouds (and of course review, review, review these throughout the first weeks!)...but not planning to teach. Do any of you teach on the first day? If so, what? Also - any cute 1st day activities? I'm coming from K where we do a lot of first-day fun things such as the Kissing Hand activities, tour the school, etc. So what does a 1st grade teacher do?

Thanks for your responses!:love:

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 19, 2010

Unpacking supplies
    Read aloud
    Create class rules
    Teach some classroom procedures
    Class 'bonding' activities (student scavenger hunt, etc)
    Art activity/writing for first BB (for example, if you were doing 'Sailing into First Grade', you could have kids decorate cut out sails for paper sailboats- decorate with their 'favorites', things about them)

4. teach12

teach12 Companion

Jul 19, 2010

Just curious...what kissing hand activity do you do?.

Is there a reason why you couldn't still do that in 1st grade? Also, I think a school tour is still a good idea for first graders...some may have forgot, some are new, and most are still nervous on the first day just like in K. I also do a bulletin boas activity, read aloud, lunch/recess rules and procedures as well as in classroom. I always do a beginning of the year writing...usually "My Family"..... Then a do the same for middle and end of year. I would say most of what you do on first day of K would be just as good for 1st grade!!!

5. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Jul 19, 2010

We no longer do the Kissing Hand activity in first grade since they do it in Kinder at our school. We still read the book, however we don't do the handprint with the cute poem.