First Day Stories??

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by ms.rene, Jul 29, 2007.

1. ms.rene

ms.rene Rookie

Jul 29, 2007

I have been teaching 1st grade for the past three years but am moving to 3rd grade this coming school year. I usually start the first day with a story about school. Is this too "babyish" for 3rd graders? If anybody has a cute book that they have used on the 1st day of school please share. Thanks!

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Jul 29, 2007

I don't think it's too babyish for 3rd graders. I'm reading First Day Jitters by Julie Danneburg, and Miss Malarkey Doesn't Live in Room 10 by Judy Finchler. I also tend to read a short book about what special class we go to each day (the first time we go to those classes). The kids love it.

4. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jul 29, 2007

I was thinking about reading those same books. But I'm worried that they might have already heard them last year on the first day of school. I want them to hear something new-that at least the majority of the students haven't heard.

5. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Jul 30, 2007

You know, it's okay if a child hears a story twice. Usually if I find that some have already read it, I make a statement about re-reading our favorite books. But I know what your saying. Could you check around with some of the 2nd grade teachers to see what they've read in the past? That way you get a feel of what some have read.

6. ms.rene

ms.rene Rookie

Jul 30, 2007

Thanks a lot. I appreciate the feedback!

7. KRaeLamb

KRaeLamb Rookie

Jul 30, 2007

I teach high school and I use books like that one the first day. We laugh and talk about past first days....by high school they are veterans!

8. Miss Bliss

Miss Bliss Companion

Jul 31, 2007

This is not my story...but I sooo wish it was....

When our kindergarteners went to the bathroom during the first day...one curious boy wandered out of line and crept up to the second floor.