First Day of School Independent Morning Work

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ssmeow, Aug 18, 2016.

1. ssmeow

ssmeow Rookie

Aug 18, 2016

Hello everyone,
    I am a first year teacher. My first day teaching second grade is next week. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas for morning work that I can have the students work on independently? I am worried that students are going to be arriving at different times and I would love for them to be able to do something that is fairly self-explanatory. I have other activities planned for the rest of the day, I just don't want to have students sitting idly as everyone gets settled in.
    Thank you!
    -Sara

3. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Aug 18, 2016

I would put out a colouring sheet, wordsearch or a bin of books to read. You don't want anything you will have to explain or support.

4. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Aug 18, 2016

How about having them fill in an autobiographical type template. Some places sell those. I'm trying to find them for my students.

ssmeow and Backroads like this.
  5. shoreline02

shoreline02 Cohort

Aug 18, 2016

I ALWAYS leave interest inventories for my kids. It also gives you some data to group your kiddos for the next week or two and if the principal walks in you have proof as to why you grouped them the way you did (interests, learning styles, etc.) Since your kiddos are only in 2nd grade, you could even do smiley faces like this: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Student-Survey-with-Smiley-Faces-286680

ssmeow likes this.
  6. ssmeow

ssmeow Rookie

Aug 18, 2016

Thank you! Great ideas! I love the student survey.

7. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Aug 19, 2016