First day of class

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by CheekyMonkey, Apr 6, 2009.

1. CheekyMonkey

CheekyMonkey Rookie

Apr 6, 2009

:love:Hello. Newbie here. How do you set up the first day of class? What do you say to introduce yourself? Do you start right away with a lesson? Do you set up rules? As a high school teacher setting different rules for each class does that even work? How to establish authority and set the tone for good classroom management? Thanks for the info!

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Apr 6, 2009

Hello, and welcome! I try not to overwhelm my students with rules the very first day - I teach all seniors, and I tell them they've been in school for twelve years, so they all know how they're expected to behave. I show a PowerPoint with highlights of what we'll be doing during the year. This past year I added in some Power Teaching and taught Class/Yes the first day and kept a scoreboard (go to the PT forum for info) which helped reinforce the idea that I'm serious about my class. What do you mean setting different rules for each class? Different grade levels? It shouldn't matter.

Here's one thing I always do: I tape a small playing card on each desk, and as students come in I hand them another card. They go find the matching card and sit there. It prevents kids from settling in next to their friends, it's not alphabetical, and it's totally random.

You've probably read Harry Wong - if you'd like another perspective, pick up Teaching Outside the Box.

4. blindteacher

blindteacher Cohort

Apr 6, 2009

I tend to give them an "all about business" vibe on the first day and then loosen up later. It works well for me but I don't know what the students you'll be teaching are like.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 6, 2009