First Day Math!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by TeachOnTheBeach, Jul 26, 2009.

1. TeachOnTheBeach

TeachOnTheBeach Rookie

Jul 26, 2009

So I am an elementary school teacher but I decided to come here because I was hoping I would maybe get some help.

I am teaching math next year, 4th grade. I was looking for ideas for a math "get to know you" activity.

I remember in scool doing a shield that was like, all about you....but I can't remember what it was and what you had to do.

What do you do in math for your 1st day activity?

Thank you!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 26, 2009

I teach.

Hi, I'm Mrs. A. Here are the supplies you'll need, here's how our class will work...

Any questions?

Does everyone have some paper and something to write with?

OK, let's begin.

Algebra will start with Order of Operations, Geometry will start with some basic definitions. School starts on Tuesday, the first quiz will be Thursday.

4. TeachOnTheBeach

TeachOnTheBeach Rookie

Jul 26, 2009

I'm a little confused! Is it a joke ot them or are you saying you just get down to business?

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 26, 2009

No, it's not a joke, though I'm a bit amused that you think so.

I teach high school. My kids don't need "getting to know you" games; the freshmen have just come off a week of orientation and the sophs know each other already-- and know me by reputation already.

So we get right to work, I assign homework, and let them know when their first quiz will be.

They leave that room with no doubt that they'll be learning a lot of math.

I'm not mean, I don't yell, and my kids enjoy my class. But we cover a LOT of math.

6. TeachOnTheBeach

TeachOnTheBeach Rookie

Jul 26, 2009

got it!! I teach 4th grade so we have to be cute still. Day 2, it's business time and time to get to work :)

7. MrsS7

MrsS7 New Member

Jul 30, 2009