First Day Jitters...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by halpey1, Aug 8, 2006.

1. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Aug 8, 2006

Ok so maybe this is pathetic... but is it weird that I'm getting nervous about school starting? I've been trained and I've even met my class (at step up day) - so why do I feel like I don't know what I'm doing? Part of me knows I'm just being silly, but the other part... my forehead is breaking out already! :eek:

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Aug 8, 2006

I'm always nervous. There's nothing wrong with that. One of the books I like to read to the kids on the day is "First Day Jitters". It's a very good book, and shows the kids that sometimes the teacher is nervous about meeting her new class too.

4. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Aug 8, 2006

Yes I have that book and plan to read it (although in my case it's "his" new class) - I just worry that I don't know what I'm doing (it's my first year). I know it's silly.

5. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Aug 8, 2006

I felt the same way my 1st year. Luckily, I have some really great colleagues. Everyone is very willing to help and share. This is my 3rd year and I still feel that way sometimes. We're combining parts of 2 schools to make a new school, and we're not really sure how it will be running. The building isn't even completed yet. We're supposed to move in next Wednesday, and school starts the Monday after.
    The first few weeks are basically getting to know your students and routines. We do a lot of testing (DRA, DSA, DIBEL's) at the beginning of the year. I just make sure I overplan. That way I don't run out of stuff to do. It's okay if I don't get to some things. I can just move it to the next week if it really needs to be done.

6. AnnApple

AnnApple New Member

Aug 8, 2006