First Day Ideas

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by Miss G, Jul 19, 2012.

1. Miss G

Miss G Rookie

Jul 19, 2012

Hello,

I'm new to 4th grade and am working on ideas for the first day of school. What types of things do you have your fourth graders do on the first day?

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 19, 2012

You can work in a little measurement by measuring heights, hands, and feet. I put them with partners and use string, then they measure the string. You can repeat at the end of the year to see how much they've grown. Mine always get a kick out of that.

4. springmac

springmac Companion

Jul 20, 2012

I taught fifth, but am moving to fourth this year. The students are usually set up in groups of four. I gave each group a paper plate, a toothpick & a small tube of toothpaste. I asked them to squeeze all of the toothpaste out onto the plate. I then tell them to work as a group & put all of the toothpaste back into the tube. Impossible, of course. I let them struggle, laugh and get to know each other for a while. I then tell them to imagine the tube of toothpaste as them and the toothpaste itself as their words. We discuss how when we say something hurtful, while we can always apologize, we can't take those hurtful words away. It's a good lesson for them & it helps set the tone for our classroom. It's just one little think I like to do.

5. MsG

MsG Companion

Jul 20, 2012

We do a time capsule with the same activity as agdamity. They also write a letter to themselves about what they think 4th grade will be like, what they are excited about, what they're nervous about, etc. They fill out a page about their favorite things and then I take a picture of them. We open it at the end of the year. They love it! I usually just have them put it in an envelope and decorate it. Once we did Pringles cans, but I refuse to try and collect 22 cans again.

6. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Aug 1, 2012