First Day Disaster

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by newteach1, May 27, 2015.

1. newteach1

newteach1 Rookie

May 27, 2015

Hello All,

I am a new substitute teacher. On my first day of subbing a few days ago, I was placed in an elementary level PE class. During class, while running, two students collided. One student fell to the ground and broke their arm...As a first day sub, I not only feel awful for the student but I am mortified and embarrassed as to what happened. Students were following directions and it was a complete accident, but I can't help but worry that the school now thinks that I am incapable of handling/controlling a class. Although the class wasn't too rowdy or out of control, I am extremely nervous that the school will believe that I could not control students and am incompetent as a substitute teacher. I can't help but think that I will never get a call back. I just do not want the school to think this, as I really do believe that this was a freak accident. This is one of my worst nightmares. I am devastated and I am just looking for some insight about this situation. Thank you!

3. mkbren88

mkbren88 Cohort

May 27, 2015

I had a student break her arm colliding with another student on the playground and falling. Accidents happen. Just last week I had a sweet little boy trip up the stairs and bust his chin open- he needed 5 stitches. It happens. I felt awful and still do but there was nothing I could have done to prevent it. Try not to stress about it.

4. Ms.Blank

Ms.Blank Companion

May 27, 2015

As stated, try not to stress. I had a kid break his arm falling off the monkey bars. I had very similar feelings as you! However, admin was very supportive of me and even told me that they're kids...it happens.