First apartment stress

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by ST13, Dec 31, 2015.

1. ST13

ST13 Companion

Dec 31, 2015

hello!

So for the past few months I've been dealing with mice in my apartment. My landlord lives upstairs and has done the bare minimum. It took begging and pleading for him to agree to hire a pest control company and when they mentioned the problem was also in HIS apartment he was in total denial. We have traps and the pest control guy put bait but I Am worried that my landlord is in such denial he will not keep up with the Maintenon of routinely checks and really getting this problem taken care of.

I'm a first year teacher and just moved this year for a job....so I am just so stressed out.

Any advice?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 31, 2015

I'd get some legal advice about breaking your rental agreement and look for a new place to live

Caesar753 and yellowdaisies like this.
  4. ST13

ST13 Companion

Dec 31, 2015

I feel like that is my only option. Luckily my landlord has told me I am free to break the lease, but I worry about when I find another apartment at a complex the only lease I'll be able to afford is 12 month. I am not sure if I want to stay in the state for next year because I am thinking of trying to find a job closer to home so I'm worried if I get a 12 month lease now it will be very expensive to break it if I decide to move in June.

5. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Dec 31, 2015

Although it tends to be more expensive, getting an apartment in a complex run by a management company tends to avoid some of these issues I've heard about at smaller places. We've never dealt with a "landlord," meaning a single person; we've always dealt with a maintenance staff and an office staff. At all the apartments I've lived in (I've lived in several), I've never had problems. All our issues have been dealt with promptly. Just for the future when you're apartment hunting.