FIRED FOR POSTING A VIDEO OF KIDS ON YOUTUBE

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Cthdenver, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Cthdenver

Cthdenver Rookie

Dec 17, 2007

I have been working for the past four months in a religious Jewish school in Brooklyn. I posted a video of my class to youtube and was fired for this. Everything is explained in the articles...

THIS HAS MADE HEADLINES LOOK:

LINK 1

LINK 2

HAS ANY LAW BEEN PASSED AGAINST THIS???

3. Momzoid

Momzoid Companion

Dec 17, 2007

At my school we have to have parents permission to use their child's photo,or video image in a public setting. Anytime you post something on the internet you run the risk of someone taking that and twisting it into something terrible. No website is 100% secure. I'm sorry this happened to you, I don't know of any laws that you broke. But you did post pictures of minors without parents permission on the internet.:sorry:

4. SittinInATree

SittinInATree Companion

Dec 17, 2007

I don't know about laws persay, but it is probably in your handbook or whatever you received. I am sure it is a school rule.

I am sorry this happened to you, but I have to say, posting a video is a big big big no-no!

Even though you didn't intend for it to become public, you still took a video of these kids without parental permission. Then you sent it to someone! Even if it was just to a friend, how does the community know that this person can be trusted?

Sorry again. I hope they can forgive you and that this doesn't further hurt your career. It is good you apologized.

5. Cthdenver

Cthdenver Rookie

Dec 17, 2007

I NEVER RECEIVED A HANDBOOK OR ANYTHING OF THAT SORT

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Dec 17, 2007

I'm sorry that this happened to you. I know that you didn't mean for it to come out, but like others have said, that is a chance you take when dealing with the internet and youtube. I read some of those comments OUCH!!

7. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Dec 17, 2007