fire marshalls!! err....

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by jitterbug2, Aug 4, 2006.

1. jitterbug2

jitterbug2 Rookie

Aug 4, 2006

:eek: I need some help with this one desperately! I am a new teacher and we are remodeling our school. We also have a new fire marshall. He is so strict that you cannot even imagine. He is telling us things such as: we can't put anything in front or on (including curtains) our emergency exit window, we can't decorate our doors, we can't cover more than 20% of our walls (including student work), we can't have silk/artificial flowers, etc. The list goes on and on and on. Does anyone have any ideas about how to get around some of these things? Or at least still make my classroom look good while obeying these rules? I have three windows in my room and I can only put curtains on two of them (how retarded will that look!). I was thinking of maybe making it a "weather watching" window???? And I was thinking of hanging a clothesline in the room for student work, but do you think that would be considered in the 20%??? What about the backs of my cubbies. I have made my cubbies into a "wall" in the middle of my classroom to close off my reading area somewhat and I was going to decorate the back of it like a bulletin board. What do you think? This is soooo frustrating! What should I do with my door? It looks REALLY ugly with nothing on it! School starts in a week and I have not been able to put anything up yet because of this guy!! NEED HELP!

3. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

Aug 4, 2006

that sounds frustrating...I have dealt with the nothing in front of the windows or doors but haven't had a strict environment other than that.

The clothesline may bring up the idea that burning things can fall on students. I know many teachers here have mentioned that rule.