Finland's Education System: 10 Important Facts Americans Shouldn't Ignore

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by teacherman1, Mar 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teacherman1

teacherman1 Devotee

Mar 18, 2014

Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
  3. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

Mar 18, 2014

America is too focused on making money and pretending to be full of rugged independent individuals that hate government. Teachers are the leaders in "govt. schools". Schools do not make money. They take money away from hardworking Americans over taxed already. My elected officials say they all want vouchers to send them to the good safe schools. Finland? Must be some liberal feel good European fantasy land..........
    (the author of this is in full cynical/sarcasm mood as he looks at the 55th rainy day PE in a row)

4. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Mar 18, 2014

as a high school teacher I really like the part where kids can opt out into a vocational track at 16. Give the students a choice in their education. My school is rural - the idea that all students are going to go to college after h.s. is nonsense.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Mar 18, 2014

I love how consistently people in the "reform" movement talk about success in places like Finland, and then strive to do the exact opposite of what Finland does.

6. teacherman1

teacherman1 Devotee

Mar 18, 2014

A couple of other facts about Finland

*The education is equal and it's free to everyone - no matter what your socioeconomic background is. If you are in a poor higher-need school they provide more financial support - not less.

*All kids get free breakfast, lunch and health care.

*Teachers are trusted to find the best ways to teach what needs to be taught. No evaluations, no one watching your every move.
    Trust, trust, trust... You hear it over and over again in first 5 minutes of Part 4 of the Finland Phenomena