Finished......

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by ryhoyarbie, Apr 10, 2010.

1. ryhoyarbie

ryhoyarbie Comrade

Apr 10, 2010

I'm finished with the student teaching placement I was at and I'm moving into another direction after spending 4-5,000 dollars and about 3 years. I'm just not right for this job and feel it's to demanding with a lot of b.s. attached to it. The expectations for being a teacher are to high and I'm not at the level the principal wants me to be.

My classroom management system is average and the lessons I do aren't engaging enough which led to half the students talking all the time. I'm not that good at bridging the gap on what they learned previously to connect with what they're learning currently. I also get overwhelmed and have trouble trying to say what I want to see to the students when the lesson is going on.

After this past week, the teachers were stressed because of the TAKS test (Texas's standardized test) and I think the entire test is a complete joke and a waste of time, yet teachers teach to the test and are evaluated on how their students do. (In reality once students graduate high school, the school district they went to doesn't care anymore about them nor does the job they get care what kind of test scores they got from the test either)

Fom the principal telling me she wouldn't hire me next year if a position opened up, to the teacher I was assigned with telling me the students doubt my abilities to teach them is all the indication I need to move on.

Even if by sure luck I was recommended I still wouldn't go out and look for a job in teaching. I couldn't cut it and feel it's beyond a regular job.

3. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Apr 10, 2010

.... It is beyond a regular job............
    sorry your experience has been so rough. It is a rough market - very competitive.