fine motor activities

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by ad65shorty, Feb 23, 2006.

1. ad65shorty

ad65shorty Companion

Feb 23, 2006

I teach a pre-kindergarten group, and I have one little boy who has terrible fine motor skills. He cries whenever we have to cut anything, he holds his pencil with his fist, he avoids any and all choice activities that will strengthen those muscles, etc. I've discussed this with Mom, and she's been working with him at home, but with little luck. Since I'm fairly new at this (teaching preschool), I'm not exactly sure what to do either. I know that boys have a harder time in this area, but I also know there are activities that can be done to help.
    I told Mom I'd do some research and get some ideas on things she can do at home to help him strengthen those skills so he's more prepared for Kindergarten this fall. We discussed lacing cards, cutting, tearing, and puzzles. What else can we do (both at home and at school)?

3. ViolaSwamp

ViolaSwamp Habitué

Feb 23, 2006

Wow! Is there any chance for Occupational therapy? He sounds like an excellent candidate.

Other than that in the mean time look for scissors that he can use better. There are many different kinds that cut in non traditional ways (found in teacher and therapy catalogs etc). Make sure you explain that you are using them only until he gets stronger or make a deal with him to cut "this much" with the regular scissors before you let him use the special scissors.

Maybe there are some stretching exercises he can do to warm up/lengthen those muscles, an OT could recommend for sure. But if that isn't an option maybe you could make up a few of your own basic ones. If nothing else it could make him believe it will help and it might boost his confidence about the tasks.

4. ad65shorty

ad65shorty Companion

Feb 23, 2006