filing a grievance. career suicide?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by kaww006, Aug 30, 2016.

1. kaww006

kaww006 New Member

Aug 30, 2016

hello all,
    i am an untenured teacher going into my second year of teaching. i taught 2nd grade last year and just found out that i was moved to 6th grade for this upcoming school year. it is still within my certification level but the change makes me uncomfortable for a few reasons. i spoke with my union rep about this and after explaining the circumstances the rep said that i could file a grievance. however, i'm worried that will put a target on my back with my principal since he was the one who made the decision in the first place.

so my question is: has anyone filed a grievance before for similar circumstances? how did it work out? should i file one or should i just suck it up and hope for the best this school year?

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Aug 30, 2016

Did you talk to the principal at all to see if there were any other possibilities available? I'd hesitate to file anything, especially as a teacher who is only in their second year (and thus don't have seniority in terms of moves), unless you felt as though it was purposeful.

Thankfully my admin believes a ton in keeping the new teachers within the same grade level a few years to help us develop quicker, but that being said, I would understand if I had to move grade levels due to the changing numbers in the school.

otterpop likes this.
  4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 30, 2016

Here, it there would not be grounds to file a grievance to be asked to teach anything within our qualifications. I would speak with your administrator (with your union rep present if you're comfortable with that) about your concerns.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 30, 2016

What is the grounds for the grievance?

In my district you can be placed in any grade level or subject area for which you are licensed.

6. kaww006

kaww006 New Member

Aug 30, 2016