Field Trip and I am Scared!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by chmelina, May 8, 2008.

1. chmelina

chmelina Rookie

May 8, 2008

Hi. I am a first year teacher...and am going on my first field trip next Tuesday. We are going to a zoo and I am very nervous about how its going to work. There are parents and other chaperones going, as well as the three other first grade teachers. My question is...how do I keep control? How do I make sure that my studemts are keeping up the whole time? Do I buy a rope for them to hold onto? I seriously have issues with this and need some suggestions as to how I can make this a fun and SAFE time. By the way...not sure how many chaperones I will have in my group. Thank you

3. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

May 8, 2008

While I am not an elementary teacher, I have been on quite a few field trips as a parent. I think you really need to know how many parents you can expect and then assign each chaperone a group of kids. Give each group some type of group emblem with first names only so chaperones can keep their group together - look for kids with blue fish tags - and chaperones know names of kids. Make sure you print out an itinerary for each chaperone with cell phone numbers of all adults on the field trip including the bus driver. If students bring money, give it to the chaperone in individual envelopes placed in a large envelope. As the teacher, when you are grouping students, you should have the most challenging students in your group. These are types from some of the great field trips and really horrible field trips I have chaperoned. :)

Good Luck and have fun.

4. love_reading

love_reading Comrade

May 8, 2008

I agree with the above. If you don't really have behavior problems and you have enough parents, it is ideal to not have anyone in your group so you can be the go-to person. Field trips are fun, but very exhausting! Good luck!

5. WonderW05

WonderW05 Comrade

May 9, 2008