Feeling very insecure about classroom mgmt skills

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by geogirl0626, Aug 22, 2011.

1. geogirl0626

geogirl0626 Rookie

Aug 22, 2011

I'm a 2nd year teacher and we don't start school until the day after Labor day. As with many 1st year teachers, I had a really hard time with classroom management. Most of my classes were great, but I had two that were just terrible sometimes. They talked over top of me, didn't complete classwork, threw things at each other and all other sorts of nonsense. At the beginning of the year, I was really nice and sweet and they sensed that I would be kind of a pushover and I guess I was. I worked really hard to improve it throughout the year and it was definitely better at the end of the year.

But now that I'm getting ready to start a new school year, I still don't know exactly what to do to start off on the right foot should I have a group of unruly kids again. Our administrative staff is great with discipline when it's something severe enough to need a referral. But I just need effective ways to deal with the minor stuff, like talking, throwing things at each other, and general teenager nonsense.

Any advice for me? How do I walk in the class and show those kids that they can't walk all over me? I want to be firm, but fair. I want to be strict with the rules, especially at first, but I don't know how.

Thanks :). By the way, I teach 9th grade earth science (with a few 10, 11, and 12s thrown in) in a high school that is classified as "urban."

Megan

3. mathrulz

mathrulz Rookie

Aug 22, 2011