Feeling very down and out

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MsManda3, May 20, 2010.

1. MsManda3

MsManda3 Rookie

May 20, 2010

Hey everyone. I really, really need some advice.

I have been looking for a year since my student teaching ended and I graduated college. I have been to 3 job fairs since then. Not a single interview. I had a prospective interview at a school in December, only to discover that if I had emailed the P one day before (I found out a day late from a friend that the position was available), I would have been interviewed but the position had been filled. ARGH! I have no luck what so ever. I live in Texas.

So I have been substituting ever since, and have gone on to add two more certifications AND gifted and talented credit hours. I have applied to two districts. I will possibly apply to a third or fourth that are not in my hometown. I do not want to move out of state because I have a lot going on here, especially a boyfriend I have been with for 5+ years. Sorry, but I'm not risking that.

I was an LTS for 2 months recently and had a positive experience where I learned so much. I spruced up my resume with help from people that work in the corporate world and fellow teachers. There is one district that teachers have been recommending me at their schools left and right. Unfortunately, they will not even look at new hires until late June because of budget issues.

I feel like giving up a lot lately. I don't know if the aforementioned district will have openings, though I hope after they figure stuff out that they will. I just want one interview. I feel that the fact I have never had an interview is a bad sign that I shouldn't teach. I'm only 24, but I'm sick of waiting to get my career started. I want to teach, and I'm ready. I try to be positive, but I'm at my wits end.

I called a principal today to let her know how much I want the job and that I sent my cover letter and resume to her office. I really, really want this job.