Feeling very discouraged.....

Discussion in 'General Education' started by suziegal, Mar 2, 2016.

1. suziegal

suziegal Rookie

Mar 2, 2016

As an experienced teacher I am doubting myself and not feeling confident. We are going through a process of whole school improvement and I feel like it doesn't matter what I do it isn't good enough. Just wondering how people deal with situations where you are finding things negative? Also makes me wonder why I ever wanted to be a teacher........

3. Kippers

Kippers Companion

Mar 2, 2016

I just wanted to send support. I'm going through an extremely tough time now with a ridiculously challenging class and am questioning my practice, my ability and my sanity.

At my school, I think many of us feel like we are being run over by so many changes- all of which are aimed at success for students, but it feels like treading water during a flood some days.

Remember why we went into this insane profession. Look for the tiniest source of joy or success. Can you just do something downright fun with your class to perk you all up? What helps me the most in confiding in people I know and trust with the bad- and the good. Of course I can't find it, but I have a box- somewhere- filled with cards from parents expressing gratitude- and I pull it out to remember that I'm here for a reason. Does this help?

Obadiah likes this.
  4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Mar 2, 2016

When I start to feel that way, I start leaving work at work. I go home and do something totally unrelated to work. I get enough sleep, and, sometimes, I exercise. I take care of myself. The way I see it, if trying my hardest isn't good enough, then trying less hard will still not be good enough. So I might as well do what benefits me, personally, the most.

5. TXforever

TXforever Companion

Mar 2, 2016

I feel the same way this year. Somedays I wonder why I'm doing this. It stinks.

nstructor likes this.
  6. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Mar 3, 2016