Feeling stressed and overwhelmed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Kendall2018, Sep 19, 2019.

1. Kendall2018

Kendall2018 Rookie

Sep 19, 2019

Hi, I'm a first year teacher and I am so overwhelmed and stressed. There's so much to learn, do and prepare and there never seems to be enough time. I dreamed of getting a teaching job and now, I can barely enjoy it due to the stresses of being a first year teacher and trying to figure it as ll out. Any advice? When does it get better? Some people say a few months in, it'll get easier. Thoughts?

Ms.Holyoke and Tired Teacher like this.
  3. NewTeacher12345

NewTeacher12345 Rookie

Sep 19, 2019

I’m in the same boat. I just graduated college in May and am a first year teacher in first grade. I agree, it’s SO overwhelming when it comes to learning all of the curriculum, following IEPs, doing all necessary requirements of a first year teacher (professional goals, student learning goals, PDPs) AHHHH it’s just so much!! I swear I get a million emails a day about something else I have to do. You’re definitely not alone!

Tired Teacher and Kendall2018 like this.
  4. Kendall2018

Kendall2018 Rookie

Sep 19, 2019

It's definitely harder than I thought. I taught Pre-K in a small private setting for about 20 years and loved it, but there weren't all these meetings and curriculum public schools have. I have a passion for teaching, but lately it's so stressful that I can't enjoy it. I teach kindergarten now. It is getting easier, but slowly!

5. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

Sep 20, 2019

I remember it well, when I first began teaching. I have ADD, so that didn't make it any easier, either. Here's some tips that might help.

1. You can't do the impossible. Prioritize. Do what's most important, first. One thing that can take up much planning time are the creative ideas you'll come up with. Don't can them, but realize you can't restructure every lesson, either.