Feeling Overwhelmed

Discussion in 'General Education' started by kellzy, Aug 28, 2013.

1. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Aug 28, 2013

This is my fourth year teaching and for some reason, this year I'm feeling particularly overwhelmed. I thought it was supposed to be less overwhelming by year four, but that's not what I'm feeling. I'm feeling quite the opposite. I have a good team, and a full-time aide, plus the smallest class size I've ever had, so I'm not quite sure why this feels so overwhelming to me.

Are any of you feeling overwhelmed? And if you are, how do you deal with it?

3. joeschmoe

joeschmoe Companion

Aug 28, 2013

I'm a first year teacher and I indeed feel overwhelmed. I'm trying to find a balance right now 3 weeks in. I was really stressing myself out with the little things like making sure students bring their books. I was going to start handing out detentions but realized a lot of my students are doing their best to fail and they're taking my sanity down with them. So as much as I hate to, I'm going to take my hands off certain micromanaging aspects.

I also tried to teach the entire period 4-5 days a week because our administration believes in "end to end" instructions. Doing so has burned me out and made me pace a lot faster than my co-teachers teaching the same course. I'm going to try to divide my periods into some instructions and some independent work.

4. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Aug 28, 2013

Yes. This is my 6th year in my district, but my first teaching HS. I am teaching US History, World History and an elective no one elected to be in. I wanted to leave MS for HS, so that is a plus.

What overwhelms me the most is planning for something I have never taught before and the length of the classes - most are 90 to 100 minutes. I try to over plan to make sure I take up the whole class time, but I have never been a fan of classes longer than 60 minutes.