Feeling Hopeless! Bad Observation!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by TeacherBug08, Nov 20, 2013.

1. TeacherBug08

TeacherBug08 Companion

Nov 20, 2013

I teach in an inner city school in the great state of Illinois. I am a first year teacher trying the best I can. I had a HORRIBLE day today and of course I got observed! I just feel like I have no support at all. I have three students who are constantly acting up. I was first told to never ignore their behaviors etc. so I would always put my class on hold and deal with them. Then today I was told to give them a consequence and then ignore them the rest of the time. I just feel so frustrated!! I want to do a good job. I just feel like saying just tell me what you want and I'll do it, but no one is consistent. I don't feel like I am cut out for a school like this at all. My last week of observation went great at least, but feeling so nervous about this one.

3. BookReader813

BookReader813 Companion

Nov 20, 2013

I wouldn't worry so much about it, especially when you don't know what kind of feedback you're going to get from your observer. I'm sure that he/she will understand that you were having a particularly challenging day with those three students. It happens! Take whatever comments he/she gives you and work on making improvements so your next observation goes more smoothly.

:hugs: Have some faith in yourself!

4. MzMooreTeaches

MzMooreTeaches Cohort

Nov 20, 2013

We all have tough observations... believe me! The positive in it is... for your next observation there is no where to go but up! Since you are new you get some leancy in a way. No classroom is perfect without students who show negative behaviors. As far as not feeling cut out for the school think of it as a plus. If you happen to transfer to another school later in your teaching career you will have great classroom management skills.